icon-youtube icon-flickr icon-vimeo icon-twitter icon-facebook icon-instagram

Intermedia
Katherine Ka Yi Liu & Sulaïman Majali: as if we were strangers; that strangeness was ours

Sat 5 August — Wed 23 August 2017

as if we were strangers; that strangeness was ours is an exhibition as part of an ongoing collaborative investigation between Katherine Ka Yi Liu and Sulaïman Majali.

The artists, who both utilise fiction as a subversive gesture, examine the implications of the body and mind of colour in navigating structures that inherently antagonise and quietly erase. Works may or may not take the form of concrete gestures, resolved ideas, clear proposals, intelligible texts or ordered occurrences. In the face of our contemporary collapse, the artists will exhibit - unapologetically - as people of colour and will occupy space(s) at the intersection(s) of feminism(s), que[e]rying of histories, gender and race (& the racialised). The works take the form of conversation that may or may not abstractly fold in on themselves, abruptly end, implode and/or (un)resolve themselves.

The artists and the works produced reserve the right to ambiguity. To be absolutely clear, the artists are not ambassadors.

The exhibition will feature a sculptural work with sufficient space around this work to allow wheelchair access. One video work is silent with fragmented unintelligible subtitles, while a second will be in a low-light projection booth with benches and space for wheelchair access, and will feature spoken Arabic. CCA's full accessibility guide can be found here.

Performance schedule:
Sat 5 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Sun 6 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Mon 7 Aug: Heidi Chiu + Nima Séne
Tue 8 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Wed 9 Aug: Heidi Chiu + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Thu 10 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nima Séne
Fri 11 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Sat 12 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Sun 13 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Mon 14 Aug: Heidi Chiu + Nima Séne
Tue 15 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Wed 16 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Thu 17 Aug: Heidi Chiu + Nima Séne
Fri 18 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Sat 19 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Sun 20 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Mon 21 Aug: Heidi Chiu + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Tue 22 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba
Wed 23 Aug: Joanne Lee + Nina Siphesihle Pinkie Mdwaba