icon-youtube icon-flickr icon-vimeo icon-twitter icon-facebook icon-instagram

CCA closure

Sat 16 June — Fri 31 August 2018

Closure & Events Update:

Following the fire at Glasgow School of Art and the O2 ABC music venue, CCA remains within the cordoned area in Garnethill. At this time, there is no set date for re-entry, and we expect to remain closed for the duration of July and August.

In the meantime we are working with our programme partners who had scheduled events throughout July and August. Details of new venues and cancellations will be updated here. As things stand:

NEW VENUE
The following events have moved to, or are currently looking for, new homes:
Civil Disobedience: Persistent and Nasty, Thu 28 Jun, The Tron Theatre.
Raucous Rossini, Fri 29 Jun & Tue 3 Jul, Merchants House.
WTF is Neoliberalism, Wed 4 Jul, The Project Cafe.
Bookmark Reading Platform, Wed 4 Jul, The Project Cafe. This event will now take place on Wed 11 July.
Residency: Taha Belal, Thu 5 Jul - Sun 30 Sep, Cove Park & Hospitalfield.
In Our Hands, Thu 5 Jul, The Pearce Institute.
Residency: Christian Noelle Charles, Mon 9 Jul  - Fri 3 Aug, The Lighthouse.
Scottish Screenwriters, Mon 9 Jul & Mon 13 Aug, Vivace Theatre School.
Sogol Mabadi & Emma Helen Reid – Encounter no. 1, Fri 13 Jul - Sun 29 Jul, The Pipe Factory.
Free Pride, Sat 14 Jul, QMU.
Butoh Dance Workshop, Sun 15 Jul, Govan Theatre Arts Complex.
WTF is Neoliberalism, Wed 18 Jul, The Space.
Weegie Wednesday, Wed 18 Jul, The Project Cafe.
Scottish Short Film Festival, Sat 21 Jul, The Crowne Plaza Hotel.
Stage to Page, Mon 23 Jul, Gilmorehill.
Sarah Demoen and Eona McCallum, Right Now, Thu 26 Jul, Kinning Park Complex.
Indepen-dance, Mon 31 Jul, Waterstones Sauchiehall Street.
Gerda Stevenson, Tue 31 Jul, The Project Cafe.
Indepen-dance, Mon 6, 13, 20, 27 Aug, Waterstones Sauchiehall Street.
Mayhem in Long Skirts – The Scottish Suffragettes, Tue 14 Aug, The Project Cafe.
Beat It, Tue 21 & 28 Aug, Theatre Royal.
Mindful Drumming, Tue 21 & 28 Aug, Theatre Royal.
Explore Wellspring writing with Laura T Fyfe, now rescheduled to Tue 28 Aug, The Project Cafe.
Last Night from Glasgow present The Gracious Losers, Fri 31 Aug, The Great Eastern.

POSTPONED:
The following events have been postponed:
Political Animal, 21-24 Jun, new dates tbc
BHP Full Colour Graphic Anthology Exhibition, 26 Jun - 1 Jul, new dates tbc
Southern Exposure presents: Heavenly Creatures, Thu 28 Jun, new date: Thu 23 Aug
The Unsettled Dust: Asian Short Film Festival, Sun 1 Jul, new dates tbc
Mount Florida Screenings, Thu 12 Jul, new dates tbc
Blueprint Scottish Independent Cinema: Super November, Fri 20 Jul
Acting Up, Sat 25 Aug, Acting Up will recommence on Sat 1 Sep.
Gypsy Dance Studio, Sun 22 Jul, new date: Fri 28 Sep
Journal Launch: Art Writing, Paraliterature & Intrepid Forms of Practice, Sat 4 Aug, new date tbc.

CANCELLED:
The following events are cancelled:
Décollagen/ Commercial Extinction, Fri 29 Jun
El Abrazo Milonga, Fri 6 Jul
GIOBabies Creative Workshops, Fri 13 Jul
UK Jewish Film Club: Remember, Thu 19 Jul
Blueprint: Super November, Fri 20 Jul
Seeds of Thought Drawing Sessions, Tue 24 Jul
Southern Exposure: Vigil, Thu 26 Jul
ICEBERG Durational Improvisation Day and Evening Performance, Sat 28 Jul
Bookmark, Wed 1 Aug
El Abrazo Milonga, Fri 3 Aug.
GIObabies, Fri 10 Aug.
Butoh Dance Workshop, Sun 12 Aug.

Publication Studio Glasgow, based in CCA and run in partnership with My Bookcase, Good Press Gallery, A Feral Studio and Joanna Peace, which offers an open source publishing facility, will be closed. CCA is also home to Cultural Tenants – cultural and artistic organisations who are based in office space in the centre and contribute to CCA’s programme. These are BHP Comics; Camcorder Guerrillas; Cryptic; Document Film Festival; Electron Club; LUX Scotland; MAP Magazine; Paragon; Playwrights’ Studio Scotland; Scottish Ensemble; Scottish Writers’ Centre; The List; Tom McGrath Writers’ Room and University of the West of Scotland. CCA is also home to Saramago Cafe Bar, Aye-Aye Books and Welcome Home. For more information on how you can support these organisations during the venue closure, please see cca-glasgow.com/about-cca/cultural-tenants

We would like to say a huge thanks to all the organisations who have offered venue space at this time, including: Project Cafe, Renfield St Stephens Church, The Tron Theatre, The Whisky Bond, GOMA, The Common Guild, The Theatre Royal, Waterstones Sauchiehall Street, Sunny Govan, Hospitalfield, Cove Park, Axiom, Tramway, Many Studios, Merchants House, The Crowne Plaza Hotel, Vivace Theatre School, Govan Theatre Arts Complex, Glasgow Film Theatre, The Lighthouse, The Great Eastern, Glasgow Women's Library, The Space, Gilmorehill and The Pipe Factory.

Many thanks for your patience, and our thoughts are with our friends and neighbours in GSA, O2 ABC and the local community.

Best wishes,

CCA